A Funny Thing Happened at the Apple Store Today

My daughter became apoplectic at the very idea of being in public with a Windows Surface Computer. “They are so uncool, Dad, everyone will laugh at me.” So she has been doing her schoolwork on a Surface RT or the home Desktop with Windows 8.1 for the last several months because she managed to crash the HDD on her MacBook Pro and I didn’t have the money and time to fix it. I decided it was time so I packed her MacBook Pro in my bag with my Surface Pro and off I went to take care of some chores figuring I would stop by the Apple Store and get what I needed to fix her system up for her.

When I got to the Apple Store I was met by a very friendly greeter, she took my information and purpose of the visit. Determined that I needed an Apple Genius and advised me that the wait was about 1 hour to 1 hour, 35 minutes! I explained I knew what was wrong with the system and just needed to get the disks to reload the HDD, we had lost the originals after three stressful cross-country moves. She said, “Sorry about the wait but only the Genius Bar can authorize the replacement discs.” So I had to wait. I was offered a stool and sat down wondering what to do to kill the next 1 to 1.5 hours…

I pulled my Surface Pro out of the bag and set it up on the desk, opened Fresh Paint and started to doodle. After a few minutes a girl of about 9 wanders over and says, “Wow! That is a neat app. What’s it called?”

I told her its name is “Fresh Paint”.

She wanted to play with it so I let her explore it a bit. While she is playing with the different media and how they work her mother comes over.

“That’s a pretty cool app, what did you say it’s called?”

“Fresh Paint”, I repeated. She is typing away on her iPad now.

“I don’t see it in the App Store”, she says.

“Oh, I’m sorry. This is a Microsoft Surface Pro. That is different from an iPad. I am sure that iPad has something like it though.” I responded.

“No,” she says, “I love to draw and would have noticed it. How does it do all that detail work?”

I explained that the Surface has built-in Wacom drivers and that probably is the difference. While I am explaining this my Surface has been getting handed to a couple different people in the small group surrounding me. Suddenly a new face appears and is calling my name.

I raise my hand and she comes over and says they are ready for me. I glance at the time and say, “It has only been less than 10 minutes, I thought I was going to be here at least an hour.”

“They will take you now” she informed me.

Five minutes later I had what I came for and was out of the store. The lady, her child and two other met me outside and asked where the closest Microsoft Store was! Ding!! A light came on and I realized that the secret to fast service in the Apple Store is to have a Surface in your hand while waiting. LOL. Who would have ever guessed?

2 thoughts on “A Funny Thing Happened at the Apple Store Today”

Leave a Reply

